Volver arriba

Carnival Kings


  • 1898 Gerardo de la Vega
  • 1899 Tito Ahuja (Tito I)
  • 1900 Teodoro Maldonado (Teodorico I)
  • 1901 Enrique Coppel Rivas
  • 1902 Demetrio Sotomayor (Dimitrix I)
  • 1903 La Peste Bubónica suspendió el carnaval
  • 1904 Francisco A. González
  • 1905 Carlos Z. Rodríguez (Carolus I)
  • 1906 No hubo carnaval por falta de fondos económicos
  • 1907 Guillermo Laveaga (Memo Momo Barrabas I)
  • 1908 Antonio Rivero
  • 1909 Julio César
  • 1910
  • 1911
  • 1912 No hubo carnaval por epidemia de viruela
  • 1913 Tomás de Rueda
  • 1914 Luis Enrique Puig Casauranc
  • 1915 No hubo carnaval por falta de fondos económicos
  • 1916 No hubo carnaval por falta de fondos económicos
  • 1917 Angel Damy
  • 1918 Roberto de Cima
  • 1919 Miguel Angel Beltrán
  • 1920 Caludio Beltrán
  • 1921 Roberto Coppel
  • 1922 Edmundo Aendaño
  • 1923 Ing. Leopoldo Farías
  • 1924 Eduardo Pérez Valdés
  • 1925 Martín Patrón
  • 1926 Arturo Ortíz
  • 1927 Bernardo Corvera
  • 1928 Manuel Cano


When in the carnival of 1929 the figure of the King officially disappeared, surely more of some citizen mazatleco of the masculine gender felt assaulted. However, some of them saw in this displacement the opportunity to return to the party that amusing representative of madness – in the style of the first monarchs of the Buenos Aires carnival – so that, in the subsequent years, it frequently appeared a bizarre subject who, under the unprofitable position of “Ugly King”, sported in parades, fantasy dances and in the same street, squandering jokes or receiving affectionate insults.

The new title was assumed by well-known personalities in the port who received the character of monarchs sometimes in agreement with the organizing committee, and others because of the spontaneity that creates the festive mood. Men with proverbial disposition to the “guateque” and with a lot of sympathy were proclaimed by sports and social clubs or by the sovereign will of the people. Among the individuals who unofficially held the crown at that time include “El Chato Gurrola” and “El Pácharo”, who separately staged memorable annual comparsas and showed solidarity in the execution of infinity of gracejadas.

A lot of time passed before the organizing committee admitted the official existence of this character, but, hungry for the fantasy and the tinsel of royalty that in Mexico can no longer be, the carnival organizers of the sixties had the idea of ​​resuming the reigns of couples and summoned the Mazatlecos to elect a king. It was the popular groups that embraced the idea and launched the reign Adolfo Güemes, an announcer of the radio station “La Rancherita de Mazatlan”, who is remembered as Uncle Pifas, but his participation was too discreet, went rather unnoticed. The evident failure of that first experience did not daunt the organizers, who chose to formalize the contest for the reign of the ugly, which since 1983 is called “of joy”.

Later, during the seventies when Raúl Velasco broadcast the parades on national television, “El Mamucas” played a role similar to that of the ugly kings ex officio, because he was seen colloquially as a carnival monarch without a crown.

Since the establishment of the “king of joy” the contest has a certain relevance, but only momentary, when popular characters or at least known in the port have competed. The mechanics of the election have usually been based on the preliminary processing of the proposals in the organizing committee, to determine who is authorized to contend by economic votes or exceptionally through the “corcholatazo”.

In this reign have paraded characters of varied trades and dissimilar lots, that the same are crowned in the public squares that in the very carnival tour of Olas Altas or the bullring of the town. Among the relevant figures include that of Kid Turista, El Macho-Macho, El Pirata, El Pely, El Cafetero Asoleado, among many others. From the year 2000 when the band singer Julio Preciado got the crown, this has become a trophy coveted by other singers or aspiring to be (although there appears a character who pretended to be a model catwalk), who consider important the seat to achieve promotion through the media and a certain popular prominence when appearing in the parade. The proof of this curious association of the throne of joy and the media promotion of singers occurred when, in 2009, the tradition of individual election was broken and the competition was put aside, to give way to an official designation of an entity Collective “La Banda de El Recodo” to occupy the throne of joy.


  • 1965 Adolfo Güemes, “Tío Pifas”
  • 1966 Salvador Curiel, “Lotario I”
  • 1967 No hubo
  • 1968 Rodolfo Ramos, “El Chocolate”
  • 1969 José Luis Flores, “Kid Turista”
  • 1970 José Trinidad Aldás, “El Conejo”
  • 1971 No hubo
  • 1972 No hubo
  • 1973 No hubo
  • 1974 No hubo
  • 1975 Jorge Mata, “Babalú”
  • 1976 Teófilo Montes, “Macho-Macho”
  • 1977 Jesús Vega García, “El Tambito I”
  • 1978 Armando Osuna P., “El Boyte”
  • 1979 Daniel Herrera, “Sanfarinfas”
  • 1980 Héctor Manuel Mendoza
  • 1981 José Angel Lizárraga, “Papucho”
  • 1982 Jerónimo Marco, “El Pirata”
  • 1983 Juan Diego Páez, “El Ostión Feliz”
  • 1984 Víctor Manuel Chavarín
  • 1985 Adán López, “El Morsa”
  • 1986 José Manuel Orozco, “El Compadre”
  • 1987 Pedro Sarabia, “El Chuco”
  • 1988 El “Pollero” Salas
  • 1989 Ramón Loaiza, “El Salvaje”
  • 1990 José Ramón Salas Casillas, “El Chino”
  • 1991 José Ramón Serrano, “El Puma”
  • 1992 Arturo Tello
  • 1993 Oscar Valdés
  • 1994 Jorge Alfredo Gallegos
  • 1995 Alonso Casillas, “El Choncho”
  • 1996 “Pely I”
  • 1997 Jesús Morales, “Chuyito I”
  • 1998 Miguel Higuera, “El Cafetero Asoleado”
  • 1999 Mario Medina “El Tequilero”
  • 2000 Julio Preciado
  • 2001 Daniel Osuna
  • 2002 Ángel Javier Rembao
  • 2003 José Ángel Ledesma Q. “El Coyote”
  • 2004 Julián Guadalupe Osuna Medina “El compa Julián”
  • 2005 Gerardo López Torres
  • 2006 Aarón González González
  • 2007 Saúl Maldonado “El azul de la banda”
  • 2008 Gregorio Romero
  • 2009 La Banda El Recodo
  • 2010 Thomas Antonio “El Centenario”
  • 2011 Bernardo Camacho
  • 2012 Víctor Alcalde
  • 2013 Iván Romero
  • 2014 Adolfo Blanco “El Artista”
  • 2015 Francisco Garay
  • 2016 Bernardo Camacho

Carnaval Mazatlán 2024