Volver arriba

The work “Acotar para stratify territoriality” by Tonatiuh Salcedo Rodríguez from Los Mochis, Sinaloa, won first place in the XXIII “Antonio López Sáenz” Biennial of Visual Arts Prize.

The contest that brings together fine and visual artists from Sinaloa, Sonora, Nayarit, Baja California and Baja California Sur, received 85 pieces, previously sent virtually, of which the jury selected 58, in person, and by carrying out a final selection decided to award first place to the work of Tonatiuh Salcedo.

It is “a three-dimensional piece with a geometric abstraction, endowed with great management of composition and use of light and depth,” established in the minutes the jury made up of maestra Liliana Bandín Gaxiola, Architect Víctor Manuel López de la Paz and maestro Alejandro Mojica Díaz

Second place goes to the piece “Vestigios de valor” by Alejandro Martinez Castañeda, from Culiacán, Sinaloa.

The winner of the second place of the Fine Arts Biennial “Antonio López Sáenz”, created a piece of art object of vaqueta pitiada, which makes a great reference that challenges the conventions of masculinity, as well as the patriarchal representation that they have in the collective memory certain artisanal objects

Third place at the Antonio López Sáenz 2024 Biennial was won by “Pareidolia” by Miguel Mateo Gutiérrez Tirado, from Mazatlán, Sinaloa, which highlighted the use of his nicotine technique on gauze, in a curtain style, thus creating a new dimensionality.

Meeting at Casa Haas on January 26th, the jury also decided to award two honorable mentions to the pieces, “Especie” by Carlos Flores Zazueta from Mazatlán, Sinaloa and “Templo del espacio vacío” by Eduardo Sánchez Encinas, from Los Mochis, Sinaloa, which is part of the series “Disappearance of the object”.

The jury also selected 40 works by 32 artists to participate in the Biennale exhibition, the list of which is attached:

Selection XXIII “Antonio López Sáenz” Prize Biennial of Visual Arts

Jorge Holcombe Urquijo
Paulina Martínez Mercado
Eduardo Sánchez Encinas
Roberto Chavez
Elisa Ramirez
Marcelo Valle
Ana Freer
Sandra Diaz
Gilberto Hulse Peña
Carlos Z
Carmina Vera
Pedro Cervantes
Manuel Sánchez O
Cristina Galaz Inclán
Cecilia Sanchez Duarte
Marco Valentine
Ivan Mayorquin
Manuel Soto Miranda
Maria Aurora Acosta
Gerardo Lopez
Job Ramirez
Rafael Avila
Benito Gonzalez
Soledad Caceres
Omar Campos
Damian Felix Mancha
Francisca Villalobos
Luis Landeros Cano
José Luis González Galaviz
Cutzi Salgado.

The awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, January 31st at Casa Haas at 7:00 p.m.

Éste artículo fue publicado en Galleries, News. .


The most popular

Monthly file

Carnaval Mazatlán 2024